The Deepest Blade of All.

Shards of speech cut through the air

brutal, malevolent

he strives to wound deeper and deeper

I struggle to breathe

open for attack

he’s ready

and waiting

patiently

words slice through me

piercing my world

penetrating my heart

worthless tears

spent on him

disillusioned with love

trusting the enemy

he clings to my loyalty

trapped

measures his love

mean, mercenary

the rage ensues

arrows of hate dart,

surround,

release

scorned retaliation rapes me of hope

shameful regret

heated incisions damage

already fragile skin

alone

scarred

fractured from fury.

  Poetry is nearer to vital truth than history.

One thought on “The Deepest Blade of All.

Leave a Reply

