A Very Different World.

I do not normally blog past 7pm (UK time) but something compelled me to add this quick post. Excuse me for not posting another poem, I will add two more tomorrow. This seems far more important. After finishing my bath and drying off whilst reading my favourite magazine “Look”, I came across an article about a YouTube video that has had over 5 million hits. I needed to check it out immediately.

Oppressed Majority is a powerful and inspiring short film. Directed by Eleanore Pourriat, it portrays a world of predominately women. A world where women are the ‘superior’ gender. It flips around the culture women these days are so sadly objected to. For some women, sexism is a daily battle. To see a man be subjected to it feels wrong. Yet it is accepted to treat a woman in the same way.

I can think of many times where a man has stepped over the mark and entered my personal space, where a man has felt free to tell me to “Cheer up!” when I refused to accept his offer to take me out for a drink. I can be frank and say that I have had my bum slapped in a club as I danced with my friends. Was the man justified to do that? I was only dancing. I have been leered at on the tube for fifteen stops, I have even been followed and approached. What gives someone the right to believe that is acceptable?

The film follows a character called Pierre and his normal daily routine. The women appear to hold all the power, from condescending him over his gender to flaunting their topless bodies on a run, from enduring verbal abuse from a homeless women with a filthy mouth to standing up to a female gang to protect his dignity and becoming a victim of a sexual attack. The worst, I think, is when Pierre has to justify his unlawful and degrading attack to a cocky policewoman who clearly thinks nothing of him.

The most bizarre part of the film and most memorable is (other than the violence) when Pierre drops his child off at the nanny’s’ who is in fact – a man. At his door, Pierre notices he has covered his hair with a scarf. He asks the nanny if his “wife” requested him to do so. The nanny answered “Yes”. Pierre tries to encourage the man to dress and be as he wants and that he has every right but the nanny is protective of his wife and dismisses Pierre’s worries with laughter. Hell. That hit home. We’ve all been there.

It is a provocative and poignant piece of film.

Well done.

 

6 thoughts on “A Very Different World.

  1. Reblogged this on freefromhim and commented:

    I want to reblog this piece as it is such a provocative film. As I blogged quite late yesterday, it seemed to go a little unnoticed. This film about a world of female sexual predators, switches an already taboo subject on it’s head. Please take a look. Sadly, the director received many abusive messages (predominately from angry men), lets show our support. Ros x

    1. Absolutely. It’s such a frightening experience and I hate how some men feel it’s within their rights to behave in such a way. Once, on the way to meet a friend in early January, two men made kissing noises to me as I walked along a neighbouring road. It was dark at 6pm (British winter and all) so it made me a little anxious. As I walked past them, a sudden gust of marijuana blew past and that frightened me more. I have quite a walk to my nearest bus stop and before I knew it, one of the men had followed me. Initially he walked past me at the bus stop (which was beside a busy road) I was so relieved but that was short lived. Within seconds, he returned and launched into a conversation with me. I was terrified. The bus stop was not lit and he had the cover of darkness on his side. There were many bushes around me and I was anticipating what he could do next. He was extremely flirtatious bordering perverted. He freely told me I had a “tight ass”. I prayed for a bus to come as the stranger asked me for my number. When I responded that I was married, he said “And?”. He followed that with a request for a hug. I could not believe it. Thankfully a bus pulled up. I have never been so happy to see one in all my life.

      1. I am sorry that happened to you it is terrifying.
        It happens to us all the time and is a shame. I understand not “all” male counterparts are this way but a lot of them are and we are the targets. Statistics show that being a woman is a risk factor that stands alone when it comes to this kind of behavior. I appreciate your courage in sharing this.

      2. Thank you. I tend not to voice it often as I usually get quite upsetting reactions from both men and women. One female friend told me to “take it as a compliment”. The cheek! Would you say that to a victim of rape?

Leave a Reply

