In his own words.

I want to share an email with you all. This is an email that was sent to me the day my father lost it with me in his car. The day he drove me home from a bachelorette/hen party and interrogated me in the car. The day he bullied and screamed at me that I was a selfish, inconsiderate daughter. The day I saw him last before he revealed he had terminal lung cancer.
This is his actual and very revealing email to me later that day. In many ways he seems to come across as polite but look deeper and you can see the truth in his meaning. It is a critique for all intents purpose. He really despised me didn’t he. I was thirty years old when I received this email.
Babitago
The computer can play the COPD DVD as you suggested and I have managed to watch some very useful information.  I have been quite ill since last 6/7 weeks including yesterday and today and out of mental weakness I, like any other father, sought some assistance from a daughter.  I should not have been so harsh with you when you refused  point blank as I also realise that you are not that strong either to offer a helping hand specially with some tasks planned ahead.  I withdraw all the harsh words I said out of frustration and would like to let you know that except momentary lapses (these are bad, there should not be any justification for them) I always love you and you can ask me for anything I can do for you, I will do them gladly and do not expect anything in return.  It is also useful to remember that human beings can never live exclusively for themselves by themselves.  To be strong and face all the problems of life successfully each of us need a reliable, committed and faithful circle of people around, that includes spouses and blood family to prop each other up at a time of need.  You will realise these more as you grow older and wiser.  Also, it’s worth noting that friends are here today gone tomorrow, being many years on this planet I have seen that they are mostly ‘fair weather friends’.  You cannot rely on them as much as you can on your father.
I am going to get a SATNAV and will gladly drive you to Harlow.
This letter do not carry any anger or malice.  You do not need to reply to this but if you do I hope it will be a nice one.
Lots of love.
Daddy xx
Leave a Reply

