Ice cream memories.

Today is 27 degrees Celsius in London.

I am staying at my mother’s house today having just been at my school fete this afternoon. An ice cream van was parked up and David and I contemplated facing the large queue to enjoy some ice cold deliciousness but the heat became unbearable and as the later part of the afternoon consisted of doing some food shopping for dinner, we needed to leave sharpish.

Instead, I picked up two Twisters (an English ice lolly) for my mum and I to enjoy as David finished shopping. Once home, we both devoured the melting lolly and joked to each other about our memories of eating ice creams when we were children. My main memory of this was on my way home from school with my mother. Occasionally my sister would join us and on very hot days we would always buy an ice cream. My mother and sister always picked the same one: A mint crisp. I remarked to her that she used to tell me,

“You aren’t allowed these. They are only for grown ups”.

She laughed and found this hilarious. I suppose it was quite funny but the memory stands out. To me, it was just another example of how my mother and sister were in unison and cohesion with each other and that I was not a part of that.

My mum went on to reminisce herself. One summers day in my childhood, my mother remembers how the whole family were out and my father went to get ice cream for everyone. However, when he returned, he only came back with three lollies. One for me, him and one for my sister. There was nothing for my mother. She did not deserve one.

He always called himself generous however he did not have a decent bone in his body.

Enjoy the sunshine guys.

2 thoughts on “Ice cream memories.

  1. This reminded me of my own childhood. We lived in a country town but very occasionally the “Mr. Whippy” van would turn up (used to sell soft-serve icecream in cones) and its arrival would be preceded by the distinct music the van would play. Remembering the intense excitement that would occur when we heard that sound and then ran inside to ask for money so we could go out onto the street and catch the van before it passed.

    1. I had a van like that pass our house too, it is one of the clearest memories I have from my childhood. Perhaps due to my love of ice cream! Who knows. It’s mad what stays with you.

Leave a Reply

