Dear David.

Dear David,

sorry I couldn’t get you a card. I was in Madrid all week and it totally slipped my mind. Does that make me a bad wife? I just wanted you to know something. You said to me that marrying me was the “best thing” you ever did. Well meeting you has changed my life. We aren’t the soppiest of people but I know how much I love you. I may not be overly affectionate in public but I will never hide my feelings for you. You are the kindest, most genuine man I have ever known. You are my best friend.

Thank you for your support over the years. I know it must be hard for you, stepping into my traumatic life and discovering new, shameful truths in my family. You have not judged me or questioned me. You have been so understanding especially during this last year. Our first year of marriage should have been amazing and romantic. Instead, we have had to deal with so much. Life has been hard, it has been a struggle and you have held my hand so tightly through it all.

I am sorry I can be standoffish, hurtful sometimes. I often think I don’t deserve you. I promise not to close up and keep things concealed. I will be open with you always. I never want to worry you as I know you often do. I want you to be able to feel calm and that our life together will be filled with happiness, that I will be strong with whatever faces me and that you will continue to be the wonderful husband that you are.

Life will be good darling.

Happy 1 year wedding anniversary.

I love you with all my heart.

R xx

Leave a Reply

