Five days away from David.

From Monday to Friday of this week, I have been away in Madrid on a work trip.

It has been my first five days away from my husband in three years.

Monday:

After a shaky bout of nerves from my fears of travelling and a couple of full-strength sickness pills, we arrived in Madrid, Spain on Monday afternoon. It was raining; so home from home really(!) We were not amused having hoped for sun the previous week. It was warmer though so our happiness was nearly met. The children were happy, weather wasn’t on their mind.

After arriving at the hostel and seeing my prison cell of a bedroom, we headed out to explore the local streets. Our Head of School had been many times before so we were safe hands. The kids loved the beautiful park he took us to, playing for an hour before we went back to unpack.

Back at the hostel, I took my colleagues into my absurd room to show them the strange décor choice the owners had adopted:

Image

Yes. this thing was genuinely on my bedroom wall. Much to my colleagues amusement.

Tuesday:

After a long lift ride at the Faro of Madrid to see the panoramic view of the city, we left to visit the Prado art gallery with our Comenius partners from Spain. Then after a quick bite we enjoyed a bus tour of Madrid in the glorious sun. I say we, I mean the teachers as the majority of kids had fallen asleep!

Tuesday night and after diving into a sea of Paella, I had a terrible allergic reaction. My throat became scratchy and a rash spread over my face. Thankfully, due to David’s careful and protective packing, I was soothed with some anti-histamines. Good work Dave!

Wednesday:

The heat came and we set off to our partner school on the edge of Madrid. They were wonderful, setting up exciting activities for our children and keeping us entertained throughout the day. They put us to shame, I was very impressed with their kindness and love.

Next was a tour of Santiago Bernabeu Stadium -Real Madrid to the rest of us. To be honest, I am not the biggest football fan. David however is, so I took it upon my duty as a wife to take it in and pay a bit of attention to what I was seeing. My camera was in use most of the time.

The highlight of the visit was eyeing up anything to do with Mr David Beckham- yum!

Evening came and so did the alcohol. Went to bed rather tipsy!

Thursday: 

Hot, hot then even hotter weather. Finally! It had arrived and we all lapped it up. After a lie-in and the first good sleep of the week (we had been kept up the other nights by some rather rowdy, screaming teens), we did a bit of shopping for souvenirs. Later, we headed to the Reina Sofia Gallery to see “Guernica” – Picasso. I love Art. After an afternoon at our favourite park basking in the sun, two of us decided to head back to the hostel to pack. We took two kids with us who wanted to do the same but hilariously got incredibly lost on the streets of Madrid! The other group even returned to the hostel before us. One of the boys with us mentioned that this hour had been one of his “favourite moments of the holiday”. That made me smile.

 Friday: 

Extremely sad to leave. we all wanted to continue our little adventure but sadly it was over and we were greeted back to London with torrential rain!

Welcome home Ros!

See you very soon Madrid, thank you for the memories xx

Image

Leave a Reply

